Mustang Media Group Wins More Than 20 Awards at National College Media Convention

Mustang Media Group with awards Mustang Media Group, the Journalism Department’s student-run news organization, received 22 awards — including nine first-place awards — from the Associated Collegiate Press (ACP) and the California College Media Association (CCMA) at the Midwinter National College Media Convention held March 2-5 in San Francisco.

First-place winners included Ayrton Ostly for Best Sports Story, Brendan Matsuyama for Best Infographic, Ellen Fabini for Best Online Advertisement and for Best Color Advertisement, Erica Patstone for Best Advertising Campaign, Jordan Triplett for Best Black and White Advertisement, and Maggie Hitchings and Nikki Petkopolous for Best Online Campaign.

Mustang Media Group also took home three first-place awards for Best Advertising Special Section, Best Overall Newspaper Design and Best Use of Social Media. Other award winners included Patstone, third place in Best Sales Promotion; Cara Benson, second place in Best News Video; Peter Gonzalez, third place in Best Podcast; Brendan Abrams, third place in Best Headline Portfolio; Matt Lalanne, Best Sports Photo; and Will Peischel, third place in Best Feature Story. 

Mustang News staff was also awarded second place for Best Multimedia presentation, an honorable mention for Best Photo Series and third place for Best Newspaper Website. In the ACP Best of Show competition, Mustang News placed first for Best Multimedia Package, second for Best Newspaper Four-year Weekly and fifth for Best Website Large School.

(Student award-winners pictured above, are (top row, left to right) Zack Spanier, Hannah Avdalovic, Olivia Proffit and Celina Oseguera; (bottom row, left to right) Naba Ahmed, Gurpreet Bhoot, and Cara Jean Benson. Photo by Matthew Lalanne.)

Related Content