Cal Poly Students to be Honored by Lawmakers at State Capitol on Feb. 1

Twenty-one Cal Poly students will be recognized for their awards and other accomplishments by state lawmakers on the floors of the Assembly and Senate in Sacramento on Monday, Feb. 1.

“These fine students are indicative of our Learn by Doing philosophy and reflect what their peers are also accomplishing at Cal Poly,” said university President Jeffrey D. Armstrong, who will accompany the students to both legislative chambers. “We want to honor these representatives of our six colleges for their success in the classroom and for their extracurricular activities that have been honored regionally and nationally."

The group will be introduced to the Senate by Majority Leader Bill Monning, D-Carmel, and to the Assembly by Assemblyman Katcho Achadjian, R-San Luis Obispo. Both men represent San Luis Obispo County. Achadjian is a Cal Poly graduate.

Ceremonies will be held in each chamber Monday afternoon.

In addition, the students will meet with the Office of the Governor Jerry Brown, Office of the Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom and representatives from their respective Senate and Assembly districts.

Most of the students hail from throughout the Golden State — from Carlsbad to Woodland Hills, as well as three from the Central Coast. Three are from outside of California.

Each has distinguished him or herself as an individual or on a team that has received a national industry award or on such high-profile events as the Tournament of Roses Parade, with its TV audience of 100 million, and the team that raised $600,000 for a net zero solar home that was judged third best in the nation.

The group also will greet family, friends and alumni at a series of receptions in the Sacramento area Sunday and Monday.

The following are the participating Cal Poly students and their hometowns (for additional information on each student, please see attached bio file):

Christina Barton — Kansas City, Mo.
Seth Borges — Visalia, Calif.
Kevin Carstens — Rocklin, Calif.
Paul Carvalho — Torrance, Calif.
A.J. Chamorro — Emerald Hills, Calif.
Elaine Cohen — Paso Robles, Calif.
Benjy Egel — Davis, Calif.
Mario Espinoza — Modesto, Calif.
Preston Fernandes — Tulare, Calif.
Leah Horner — Sacramento, Calif.
Kenna Lewis — San Luis Obispo, Calif.
Joyce Lin — Kirkland, Wash.
Megan Montalvo — Woodland Hills, Calif.
Alyssa Parr — Clarksville, Md.
Jimmy Phung — Westminster, Calif.
Rachel SantaOlalla — Ventura, Calif.
Tanner Shelton — Santa Paula, Calif.
Ryan Smith — Carlsbad, Calif.
Partick Steffanic — Portola, Calif.
Janel Takeda — San Jose, Calif.
Reese Woodard — Davis, Calif.

Related Content