Recent News

Scholarship in memory of Cal Poly student Jordan Grant awarded to two journalism students

Dec 12, 2018

(From left to right: Lucas clark, becky grant, james grant, cassandra garibay, aidan mcgloin, and aja goare | photo by yasel hurtado)

The family of Cal Poly student Jordan Grant have funded two $5,000 journalism scholarships in his honor. Jordan was a first-year Cal Poly computer engineering student who was killed October 7, 2018, in a motorcycle crash on Highway 101.  

Cal Poly’s Mustang Media Group Wins 17 National College Media Awards

Dec 3, 2018

SAN LUIS OBISPO — Mustang Media Group, the Cal Poly Journalism Department’s student-run media organization, received national recognition last month from two of college media’s most distinguished organizations — Associated Collegiate Press (ACP) and College Media Association (CMA).

Join Our Campaign

Nov 19, 2018

The Centennial Campaign is about making it possible for students to thrive — and lead — in a rapidly changing media world. At its core is the Journalism Endowment, a grassroots fund supported by individual contributions.

Continue reading Join Our Campaign...
Emily Merten

New Scholarships and Awards in Journalism Department

Nov 19, 2018

The Journalism Department awarded two new scholarships and an award in 2018, thanks to the generosity of our alumni and friends.

Patti Piburn

Patti Piburn Returns to Journalism Department

Nov 19, 2018

Patti Piburn has returned to the Journalism Department as the adviser to Cal Poly’s student-run radio station, KCPR. She had previously worked as KCPR adviser and a full-time lecturer for the department before taking a two-year leave of absence from Cal Poly to work on her doctorate at the Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Arizona State University.

KCPR Celebrates 50 years On the Air

Journalism Department Celebrates 50 years of KCPR

Nov 19, 2018

A weekend of events to mark the 50th anniversary of campus radio station KCPR-FM kicked off on Friday, Oct. 12, with a concert at SLO Brew Rock. The 400-plus attendees included Cal Poly alumni, students, and local music lovers. 


Journalism Department Re-applies for Accreditation

Nov 19, 2018

The Cal Poly Journalism Department is applying for accreditation through the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). The process will be carried out over the course of two years.

Alumni Updates

Nov 19, 2018

Check out the latest accomplishments, awards and news from Journalism Department alumni.

Continue reading Alumni Updates...
JIm Hayes Symposium logo

Five Key Takeaways from the 2018 Jim Hayes Symposium

Nov 19, 2018

The Journalism Department’s third biennial Jim Hayes Symposium on October 12 focused on the many challenges confronting journalism. Kevin Riggs (Journalism, '78), senior vice president of Randall Communications, served as moderator. Five panelists wrestled with the question, “Is Journalism Broken?” in a spirited debate. Peter Hartlaub (Journalism, '93), pop culture critic for the San Francisco Chronicle, was the evening’s master of ceremonies.

Susan Houghton

Hall of Fame Inductees and Ceremony

Nov 19, 2018

Four accomplished alumni have been inducted into the Cal Poly Journalism Department’s Mustang Media Hall of Fame: music industry executive Bruce Flohr (Journalism, '88), advancement professional Susan Houghton (Journalism, '82), political consultant and KCRA-TV analyst Kevin Riggs (Journalism, '78), and former KCPR faculty adviser and broadcaster Ed Zuchelli. The late Zuchelli’s grandson, also named Ed Zuchelli (Journalism, '14), accepted the award on his family’s behalf.

This year’s inductees were honored on Oct. 13 at the Hall of Fame and KCPR Through the Decades Gala, part of a weekend-long celebration of the 50th anniversary of Cal Poly’s student radio station, KCPR-FM.


Related Content